Are Skittles Vegan?
If you're vegan, you can eat Skittles. Skittles has been entirely plant-based since 2010 when it got rid of gelatin from its products. Gelatin is made by boiling the cartilage, bones, and skin of animals like fishes, cows, and pigs. For a time, skittles was only vegan within the US. In the UK, where the candy originated, it used to contain E120 or carmine. This red dye is extracted from female insects, therefore making it not vegan. Thankfully, this ingredient was removed from Skittles being sold in the UK in 2015. The original Skittles pack is not the only vegan option of the company. Even their Sour, Tropical, and Sweet Heat Skittles do not contain animal-derived ingredients.
Are Skittles Gluten-free?
Gluten comes from the protein found in grains, and it enables foods to hold their shape. However, many are allergic to it. Thankfully, Skittles is free of gluten, and this label is printed on the back of their wrapper. Upon examining the ingredients of skittles, it does not have any trace of gluten, even if it contains corn starch and corn syrup. People with this dietary restriction can freely enjoy a pack of Skittles and only worry about an impending toothache or sugar rush.
Are Skittles the Same Flavor?
If you're a fan of Skittles, you may be curious if they all taste the same regardless of their color. Skittles have different colors and fragrances, but they all taste the same. People who eat skittles think every color has a different taste because the signal from the nose is combined with the signals the brain receives from the eyes and tongue. If you're curious if this is true, try eating Skittles while wearing nose clips. It's amazing how your brain can fool you into thinking that the combination of signals from your senses is just coming from your tongue.